Slovakia Stories – WorkWednesday

Standard

Hardly able to call it work I had so much fun, but I was a teacher of English at Slovakia’s ‘Discovery Camp’ this July.

It was work to remember to speak at anything less than 90 miles an hour, however, and I did realise I speak two languages – English and Nonsense.

I taught too much of the latter it would seem, but a moderately happy medium was found in idioms like ‘hit the sack’ and song lyrics such as ‘let it go’.

 

It was an absolutely incredible time with a week full of treasured memories. A few of many highlights would include discussing the world view and poetry in The Script’s ‘We Cry’ in an official English lesson to experiencing the beauty of the Tatra Mountains (do Google if like me you had never heard of them) through to learning Slovak dancing and realising that when reading the Bible together, the word ‘holy’ in Slovak sounds like ‘sweaty’…

 

Bearing witness to some of the Karaoke acts that nearly split sides, having my first experience of roasting sausages over an open fire and making some truly wonderful friends, makes this in my opinion the best teaching job in the world.

One thought on “Slovakia Stories – WorkWednesday

Leave a comment